I MINA'TRENTAI UNU NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN 2011 (FIRST) Regular Session

Resolution No. 127-31 (COR)

Introduced by:

T. R. Muña Barnes
B. J.F. Cruz
T. C. Ada
V. Anthony Ada
F. F. Blas, Jr.
Chris M. Dueñas
Sam Mabini, Ph.D.
Judith P. Guthertz, DPA
Adolpho B. Palacios, Sr.
v. c. pangelinan
R. J. Respicio
Dennis G. Rodriguez, Jr.
M. Silva Taijeron
Aline A. Yamashita, Ph.D.
Judith T. Won Pat, Ed.D.

Relative to recognizing and commending the qualifying winners and teachers of the 2011 Guam History Day Competition for advancing to represent Guam in the National History Day Competition at the University of Maryland, on June 12 to 16, 2011.

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE COMMITTEE ON RULES OF I MINA'TRENTAI UNU NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN:

WHEREAS, Guam History Day, a program initiated by preservation stakeholders, and funded and coordinated by the Guam Preservation Trust, is a strategic element in the effort to protect and preserve Guam's historic sites, culture, and perspectives by increasing public appreciation and education for the benefit of

7 Guam's people and future; and

1

2

3

4

5

6

1 WHEREAS, the first Guam History Day Competition was held in 2008; and

WHEREAS, the Guam History Day Competition culminates a year long program that involves middle and high students creatively developing their perspectives based on specific themes relative to Guam's history; and

WHEREAS, the Guam History Day program is linked to the National History Day program, a national curriculum program for middle and high school students that allows for students to develop the following attributes that are critical for future successes: critical thinking and problem-solving skills; research and reading skills; oral and written communication and presentation skills; and self esteem and confidence; and

WHEREAS, the Guam History Day Competition theme for this year is: "DEBATE & DIPLOMACY: SUCCESSES, FAILURES, CONSEQUENCES." Students were guided by their teachers to submit their work in the following categories: paper essays, exhibits, performance, documentary, and website. Each entry was judged at their school level and the winners in each category represented their school at the island-wide competition on March 19 and 26, 2011, at the 1911 Historic Lujan House in Hagåtña; and

WHEREAS, the participating schools included: Andersen Middle School, Commander William C. McCool Elementary/Middle School, LP Untalan Middle School, St. John's School, Father Duenas Memorial School, George Washington High School, Guam High School, Simon Sanchez High School, and St. Thomas Aquinas High School; and

WHEREAS, the island-wide Guam History Day Competition qualifying winners will have the opportunity to compete at the National History Day Competition at the University of Maryland on June 12 to 16, 2011; now therefore, be it

RESOLVED, that the Committee on Rules of I Mina'Trentai Unu Na 1 2 Liheslaturan Guåhan does hereby, on behalf of I Liheslaturan Guåhan and the people 3 of Guam, recognize and commend the qualifying winners and teachers of the 2011 Guam History Day Competition for advancing to represent Guam in the National 4 5 History Day Competition; and be it further 6 **RESOLVED**, that the Speaker and the Chairperson of the Committee on Rules 7 certify, and the Legislative Secretary attest to, the adoption hereof, and that copies of 8 the same be thereafter be transmitted to Reanne Acasio, Student, Guam High School; 9 Shannon Ada, Student, Andersen Middle School; Lawrence Alcairo, Student, Father 10 Duenas Memorial School; Jacen Blackburn, Student, Andersen Middle School; Marten Lai, Student, Father Duenas Memorial School; Logan Mance, Student, 11 Andersen Middle School; Patrick Navarrette, Student, Guam High School; Alona 12 13 Paja, Student, Andersen Middle School; Nicolas Pangelinan, Student, Andersen 14 Middle School; Alvin Qu, Student, St. John's School; Christian Quichocho, Student, 15 Andersen Middle School; Lazaro Quinata, Student, LP Untalan Middle School; Jared 16 Roberts, Student, Guam High School; Sydney Short, Student, Guam High School; Doris Ada, Teacher, Andersen Middle School; Anthony Blas, Teacher, Father Duenas 17 Memorial School; Debra Cabrera, Teacher, St. John's School; 18 Elizabeth Cruz, Teacher, Andersen Middle School; Vincent Leon Guerrero, Teacher, LP Untalan 19 Middle School; Jennifer Pulmones-Paz, Teacher, Guam High School; Mary Williams, 20 Teacher, Andersen Middle School; and Joseph Quinata, National History Day State 21 22 Coordinator; and to the Honorable Edward J.B. Calvo, *I Maga'lahen Guåhan*.

DULY AND REGULARLY ADOPTED BY THE COMMITTEE ON RULES OF I MINA'TRENTAI UNU NA LIHESLATURAN GUÂHAN ON THE 3RD DAY OF JUNE 2011.

JUDITH T. WON PAT, Ed.D.

Speaker

RORY J. RESPICIO

Chairperson, Committee on Rules

BENJAMIN J.F. CRUZ

Acting Legislative Secretary